Daily Archives: September 2, 2011

turning to fall and Four Thieves Vinegar

The last few days have been filled to the brim with life. The normal mundane and beautiful things like being with family or trying to convince my Toddler she really would like to sleep past 6am.  Family coming in and our of town to take care of my mother and all the obligations that entails and all the joy it brings. I have also been working on a post for over a week on the Goddess/God/All and yet I just can’t seem to articulate what I feel and think. On top of all of that I am am having a dyslexia flair up, which is making everything just a little more work. But as I said that is life, so I will keep working on it. So this post instead (I felt neglectful for not posting for several days) will be on the turning of the Wheel to the my favorite season, Fall.

This morning when I took the dog out for our normal romp around the back yard and I noticed the crispness in the air. Crisp and sweet kind of like an apple.  It was also clear already at 7am which usually still finds us in fog. It is now warmed up and is bordering on hot. That is Coastal California weather for you. One of the reasons I love it here.

Everyone can feel the shift. Kids scamper back to school and adults feel a pull to buy office supplies weather they have kids or not. New projects are embarked on and cleaning of houses with cold weather prep in mind is commenced. This is an ideal time to do a thorough cleaning of your house. as well as take inventory on what you have. It is also a good time to weed out the old so you can make way for the new. Personally I am going Through my wardrobe and getting rid of about half of it. I no longer wear much of it. I am kind of a jeans gal now where I used to dress up in suits for work everyday. I am also going through my kitchen and seeing what I have and what I need. Some things can be donated to the food bank. Some can be used right now for meals which saves us money and trips to the store. Not to mention all the kitchen accouterments. My but do we collect those.

As I turn to make ready our nest to shelter us for the dark half of the year I am also making Four thieves Vinegar.  An excellent potion for cleansing and protecting. A must have for cold and flu season.  I will leave you with a post about that from another blog and a youtube video that I like very much about it. My only comment is that if you are going to make it, you may want to do as I do and make a batch for cleaning with white vinegar and then a batch to take with good quality apple cider vinegar like braggs.

the post http://www.labonadea.com/grim_vinegar.htm

and the the video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R1l9phGBJrE

Happy Nesting!

 

 

 

 

Categories: daily life | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Zero-Waste Chef

Less waste, more creativity, tastier food

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Pocket Glass

An online mirror book.

Br0ken Girl Diaries

“Once, I can’t remember, I was long ago, someone strange. I was innocent and wise, and full of pain. Now that I’m a woman, everything has changed. Once, when I was searching, somewhere out of reach, far away, in a place I could not find, or heart obey. Now that I’m a woman, everything is strange.” – Amalthea from The Last Unicorn.

Sang Rouge Terre Blanc

A Mystery School For The 21st Century

hecatedemeter

Undermining the Patriarchy Every Chance I Get. And I Get a Lot of Chances (Copyright Preserved)

History Witch

Illustrations & Odd Facts

no way out books

mik dietlin's ficticious world

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

feminismandreligion.wordpress.com/

Exploring the F-word in religion at the intersection of scholarship, activism, and community.

thistledewmercantileblog.wordpress.com/

The Blessing of the Home is Contentment

The Grumpy Druid

Selected entries from the diary of a 21st Century druid.

Love is my Spirit

An exploration of the Infinite Forms of Love...

Northern Rivers Grove, ADF

Bringing the Ár nDraíocht Féin tradition to Northern NY

Fox and Broom

A mom's adventures in keeping healthy, keeping her sanity, and making stuff.

Urban Meliad

Feminist Witch talks Magic, Animism, Local Food, Goddesses, Urban Agriculture, Fibre Arts, and Preserves

theINFP

I aim to bring delight to others by sharing my creative endeavours

Poison Magnolia

When You Have Eliminated The Impossible, Whatever Remains, However Improbable, Must Be The Truth.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

A Green(ish) Life

Combining permaculture, serious crafty skills and a deeply instilled sense of wonder to lead as green(ish) a life as possible!

Romancing the Bee

Beautiful Beekeeping, English Cottage Gardening, and Cooking with Honey

Pixiecraft: Adventures of Magick and Devotion

The Life of a Practicing Pagan and Traditional Witch

This Pagan House

Autumn 2013

Serenity Spell

WILD IN FLORIDA: Exploring and Photographing Florida's Threatened Ecosystems, Wildlife, and More

fall in love. take photos. repeat.

the chronicles of a girl with a camera

Witch Reads

magical book reviews

Small Potatoes

Because in MY life, these things are no small potatoes

jerry-mahoney.com

Author, ranter, dad

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

The Parenting Passageway

Peaceful Parenting for a Hectic World

Wonder in the Woods

Living and Learning in the Pacific Northwest

The Witch of Forest Grove

Animism, Folk Magic, and Spirit Work in the Pacific Northwest

Journey with Julia

Living each day with kindness, compassion, inspiration, and humor.

Witching WildWood

Just another WordPress.com site

TwoCupsOfTea

Hand Crafted Style