Mad mission for me

So here I am reeling from our 3rd life interrupting sickness in as many months. I knew coming into 2014 that this year would be the year of self-care. I know I have neglected me. Its gotten to the point where feeling stressed out and in crisis is my normal feeling. That’s not good. It’s not right and it’s not helpful. Of course guess what it makes me sick. There is a shocker right. So time to take a step back and evaluate.

so now I’m on a mad mission to take care of me and I am starting with the food. It seems when I get buys that my ability to eat good food disintegrates. Take today. We (Little and I) were morning people today. Which means she has school in the morning and I have work in the morning. So I woke up helped her get dressed feed her, took the dog out, feed the dog etc etc. You know the life of a mom. What ended up happening is that I walked out the door without having eaten. fast forward its 1pm I still have not eaten and I am leaving the office to go pick up Little. Who announces that she is hungry and thirsty. I do have some snacks in the car and so I get a few handfuls of trail mix. We rush home. I take the dog out. Get little situated with a snack and some water and then off we go again on more errands. During said errands I make a bad food choice in the form of a lot of sugar and even though I feel better at the moment I know I will pay for it later. I guess it convinced me and I got to thinking of what I was reading last night. A very inspiring post on eating clean and doing a sunday prep. It got me thinking of doing a food prep day or days. I got to thinking of the different foods that would work for me and my family and the first two are what I’m sharing with you in this post.

I am slightly embarrassed by the first one. I joined in the salad in jar craze. I don’t know. I hope it works. It does seem like something I can grab and be able to have lunch at work. It also seems like a nice pre made lunch I can have at home when I am in the middle of life.

20140124-181256.jpg

I also made 12 smoothie packs. I was inspired by this blog and modified the recipe based on the fruit I already had in the freezer. I plan to make some with her recipe because they sound good. It didn’t take that much time to put them all together which is nice and I am sure doing them all in a big batch like that actually would save time as opposed to doing them individually each morning. Whats more the work is done which frankly is needed in my crazy mornings. One last benefit is that no more greens melting before I get to them! I do hate to waste food. Win win win!
20140124-181318.jpg

now I’m working on list of foods that I might make every week during food prep day. Do you have any foods you make every week? do you have foods you wish you made every week?

Categories: daily life, edibles, family, photos | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Mad mission for me

  1. Since moving in with my Dad over a year ago, I let all my bad habits creep back up on me. It was easier to fall back into the era of what is “natural” for me and leave the energy it took to eat properly for other things, like taking care of his needs. Now that he has passed, I am looking at myself, literally, in the mirror. I DO. NOT. LIKE. what I see. I am joining WeightWatchers again, because that has always worked for me…except when I got lazy, or cheap, or just didn’t care.
    It is just so important to take care of ourselves…no one else is going to do that for us, and then we teach our children how to take care of themselves as well.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Zero-Waste Chef

Less waste, more creativity, tastier food

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Pocket Glass

An online mirror book.

Br0ken Girl Diaries

“Once, I can’t remember, I was long ago, someone strange. I was innocent and wise, and full of pain. Now that I’m a woman, everything has changed. Once, when I was searching, somewhere out of reach, far away, in a place I could not find, or heart obey. Now that I’m a woman, everything is strange.” – Amalthea from The Last Unicorn.

Sang Rouge Terre Blanc

A Mystery School For The 21st Century

hecatedemeter

Undermining the Patriarchy Every Chance I Get. And I Get a Lot of Chances (Copyright Preserved)

History Witch

Illustrations & Odd Facts

no way out books

mik dietlin's ficticious world

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

feminismandreligion.wordpress.com/

Exploring the F-word in religion at the intersection of scholarship, activism, and community.

thistledewmercantileblog.wordpress.com/

The Blessing of the Home is Contentment

The Grumpy Druid

Selected entries from the diary of a 21st Century druid.

Love is my Spirit

An exploration of the Infinite Forms of Love...

Northern Rivers Grove, ADF

Bringing the Ár nDraíocht Féin tradition to Northern NY

Fox and Broom

A mom's adventures in keeping healthy, keeping her sanity, and making stuff.

Urban Meliad

Feminist Witch talks Magic, Animism, Local Food, Goddesses, Urban Agriculture, Fibre Arts, and Preserves

theINFP

I aim to bring delight to others by sharing my creative endeavours

Poison Magnolia

When You Have Eliminated The Impossible, Whatever Remains, However Improbable, Must Be The Truth.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

A Green(ish) Life

Combining permaculture, serious crafty skills and a deeply instilled sense of wonder to lead as green(ish) a life as possible!

Romancing the Bee

Beautiful Beekeeping, English Cottage Gardening, and Cooking with Honey

Pixiecraft: Adventures of Magick and Devotion

The Life of a Practicing Pagan and Traditional Witch

This Pagan House

Autumn 2013

Serenity Spell

WILD IN FLORIDA: Exploring and Photographing Florida's Threatened Ecosystems, Wildlife, and More

fall in love. take photos. repeat.

the chronicles of a girl with a camera

Witch Reads

magical book reviews

Small Potatoes

Because in MY life, these things are no small potatoes

jerry-mahoney.com

Author, ranter, dad

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

The Parenting Passageway

Peaceful Parenting for a Hectic World

Wonder in the Woods

Living and Learning in the Pacific Northwest

The Witch of Forest Grove

Animism, Folk Magic, and Spirit Work in the Pacific Northwest

Journey with Julia

Living each day with kindness, compassion, inspiration, and humor.

Witching WildWood

Just another WordPress.com site

TwoCupsOfTea

Hand Crafted Style