Daily Archives: June 28, 2013

Some of my Books

20130628-161049.jpg

To start our Book of Shadows series lets talk about different types one might have. This goes hand in hand with What is in your Book Of Shadows (BOS)  You might choose to document your journey on your path, you might keep spells or rituals or songs, you might keep records of your events, or recipes. You might keep it all together or in separate books. The choice is yours and really you need to figure out what you like. To give you an idea of options I wanted to share this picture of some of my Books. I also keep several folders on my computer with information.  One for my personal BOS, one for our covens book, and one for recipes. Ok so lets look at these Books from left to right I will tell you a little about each.

  1. The little one you can hardly see is small and green at the very back. This is my daily journal. Some witches call this a mirror book as it is a reflection of you day-to-day life. Not only is journaling good for your soul and well-being it is nice to record things to look back so you can see how you have grown or if your premonitions came true. I also will write my dreams in here though some folks use a separate book for that. This is also what I would use to do automatic writing.
  2. The one with the Tree is my Book of Days. I have this divided by month and I have little bits of lore about each month. I also have menus for each month based on what is available in my area and I have activities for both me and for Little.  Like if I know I’m going to want to serve mead for Mabon I can put the recipe in July so that I know when to make it.
  3. The black book on top of the book of days is my Covens record book.  This is rather like a meeting ledger where we record who was present and if anything “interesting” happened also if magic was done who asked for what. We only write on the right hand page so that later coven members can write on the left hand page or on back of the record page to comment on what the experience brought them.
  4. Under that the Brown binder is a BOS that I use to store lots of reference material in.
  5. The open one in back is my “Real” book I call it a Book of Blessings and it has things in it such as history and ritual that I want to keep permanent. It is also more of an art journal. (Don’t worry we will be going over what goes in a book in much more detail shortly, this is just an overview)
  6. The other journal to the right of that is my magic book. I keep all my spells in that and sometimes add art but mostly it has my spells.
  7. The black binder is of course my Covens Binder that anyone can add to or copy from and that has the rituals typed up and printed out in large print to make it easy to read by candlelight or moonlight. Lol
  8. The cute red one is my Filofax. I always have a planner on me so I always have somewhere to write down spells that come to me or messages or what have you. I also keep some daily prayers in there and a to do list of witchy things I must do.
Categories: back to basics, Book Of Shadows, pagan, photos | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Sneak peak BOS class

20130628-161049.jpg

I’m getting ready to start a BOS series over at The Pagan Mamaon facebook but you get a sneak peak at my current books 🙂

Categories: back to basics, Book Of Shadows, Books, pagan, photos | Tags: , , , | 8 Comments

Blog at WordPress.com.

Zero-Waste Chef

Less waste, more creativity, tastier food

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Pocket Glass

An online mirror book.

Br0ken Girl Diaries

“Once, I can’t remember, I was long ago, someone strange. I was innocent and wise, and full of pain. Now that I’m a woman, everything has changed. Once, when I was searching, somewhere out of reach, far away, in a place I could not find, or heart obey. Now that I’m a woman, everything is strange.” – Amalthea from The Last Unicorn.

Sang Rouge Terre Blanc

A Mystery School For The 21st Century

hecatedemeter

Undermining the Patriarchy Every Chance I Get. And I Get a Lot of Chances (Copyright Preserved)

History Witch

Illustrations & Odd Facts

no way out books

mik dietlin's ficticious world

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

feminismandreligion.wordpress.com/

Exploring the F-word in religion at the intersection of scholarship, activism, and community.

thistledewmercantileblog.wordpress.com/

The Blessing of the Home is Contentment

The Grumpy Druid

Selected entries from the diary of a 21st Century druid.

Love is my Spirit

An exploration of the Infinite Forms of Love...

Northern Rivers Grove, ADF

Bringing the Ár nDraíocht Féin tradition to Northern NY

Fox and Broom

A mom's adventures in keeping healthy, keeping her sanity, and making stuff.

Urban Meliad

Feminist Witch talks Magic, Animism, Local Food, Goddesses, Urban Agriculture, Fibre Arts, and Preserves

theINFP

I aim to bring delight to others by sharing my creative endeavours

Poison Magnolia

When You Have Eliminated The Impossible, Whatever Remains, However Improbable, Must Be The Truth.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

A Green(ish) Life

Combining permaculture, serious crafty skills and a deeply instilled sense of wonder to lead as green(ish) a life as possible!

Romancing the Bee

Beautiful Beekeeping, English Cottage Gardening, and Cooking with Honey

Pixiecraft: Adventures of Magick and Devotion

The Life of a Practicing Pagan and Traditional Witch

This Pagan House

Autumn 2013

Serenity Spell

WILD IN FLORIDA: Exploring and Photographing Florida's Threatened Ecosystems, Wildlife, and More

fall in love. take photos. repeat.

the chronicles of a girl with a camera

Witch Reads

magical book reviews

Small Potatoes

Because in MY life, these things are no small potatoes

jerry-mahoney.com

Author, ranter, dad

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

The Parenting Passageway

Peaceful Parenting for a Hectic World

Wonder in the Woods

Living and Learning in the Pacific Northwest

The Witch of Forest Grove

Animism, Folk Magic, and Spirit Work in the Pacific Northwest

Journey with Julia

Living each day with kindness, compassion, inspiration, and humor.

Witching WildWood

Just another WordPress.com site

TwoCupsOfTea

Hand Crafted Style