Friday 5 (7/13)

My mother.

Like all mothers mine is truly amazing woman. A year ago tomorrow I was going about my morning chores doing laundry and watering the garden when a silly little thought came to the front of my mind and I thought I wonder what I would do if I lost my mother. I let it percolate a while and then pushed it away wondering where that nonsense came from. I felt my fear of flying slip into my body which was really odd,  and decided I was nervous that my bestie was flying to Vegas that night. I came inside and changed Littles diaper and saw I had a message on my phone. I checked the message and it was dad and he sounded strange. He said there was an issue with mom and he was heading home (super strange) and would call and let me know what was going on. Dad called back and told me mom was being air lifted from where she was camping to the hospital. I told him by the time he got to my house I could pack up my stuff and Little and we could head out. I called the bestie at work and was only able to get out that mom was being air lifted and bless her big heart she left work and was here in minuets. I was freaked out but we managed to get the car packed. By then we had heard that because of the CT scan she was going to be transferred to either UCSF or Stanford. We headed up that way and by the time we were near Stanford we heard it would be UCSF. I remained completely freaked out but not in a hysterical way. I like to think I have the talent of managing crisis. We arrived at UCSF, my Sister-in-law watched Little and dad, my brother and I went in to see mom and talk to the doctors. She was out of it to say the lease. Being in her hospital room I felt dizzy and had to sit on the floor several time to stop myself from passing out. The doctors explained she had a brain aneurysm that had hemorrhage. Dad signed the papers to allow her to have a craniotomy the following day.  This may seem a strange way to start my Friday five but I thought I would give you some background on what I am so thankful for today. 

1. She lived. 40% of people who suffer the hemorrhage she did do not.  15% never even make it to the hospital. My mothers survival is partly due to luck and partly due to my mom being awesome. She had been camping with friends and they were just getting ready for their day when the rupture occurred. Mom got a splitting headache. She sat down and someone came to check on her. They asked if she was ok and she said “I think I have had a stroke I need to go to the hospital” She had been aware of stroke symptoms and was able to advocate for herself from the get go. Apparently many people think “oh its just a bad headache I will wait it out”. This statement from my mom may have saved her life.

2. UCSF. This is an amazing hospital. We are immensely lucky to have such a great facility close to us and that the Chico hospital sent her there. The surgeon that did her operation has literally preformed thousands of these type of operations. He is one of the top 3 in the whole world! The hospital case worker was fantastic. Moms insurance tried to say they wouldn’t pay for the second helicopter the air lift to UCSF because it wasn’t necessary. They also said she didn’t need so many days in the Nuro ICU. The case worker told the insurance company in no uncertain terms that it was not up to them to decided that the doctors are the ones that make those decisions. They paid for it. The entire staff that was wonderful and helpful throughout all of it.

3. speaking of the people moms nurses were wonderful. The were skilled and knowledgeable and had an endless supply of patients with all of our crazy. our Nuro ICU had its own waiting room filled with families camping out. All of us were in the same boat just at different stages of our journey. We shared stories and updates and lots of time. The first day we got there, we meet a family whose father was going through the same thing mom was. They were full of words of encouragement and what to expect.  Having these other families around us was so helpful.  Of course my family was great. Everyone really pulled together. I don’t think my dad left moms side except for when forced for the entire time she was there. My brother and sister-in-law life in the city and so they were there all the time. I communicate with two of my aunts who let the rest of the family know what was going on. My husband took time off work and came up to be with us and to watch Little while  went to sit with mom. Being the information age or something like that I posted on Facebook that mom needed positive thoughts and prayers the first day before we even knew what the doctors would say. I will always remember the people who text, called immediately upon reading that message.

4. While we were in UCSF one nurse told us about http://www.lotsahelpinghands.com/ What a wonderful site! we were able to set up a community for mom and all the people who wanted to help but didn’t know how could sign up for different things. Meals and walks and time spent just hanging out were a few of the things we asked for. For us it was great because we didn’t have to coordinate any of it. We just put time slots up and people signed up. Speaking of cool websites http://www.bafound.org/ is great for every thing brain aneurysm related. If you are curious about some basic facts check them out here.

5. Being part of a family that values family. Everyone pitched it and there was pretty much no complaining, just everyone asking what else can I do? A year later we are still working on recovery but not in a sever way. My parents marriage is actually stronger now then it ever has been in my memory. Our family makes even more of a point to spend time together and we get really cool extras like this

a trip to the beach after a trip to the doctors. Our lives are different now, and some things are still difficult, but mostly I am just so grateful for the outcome of this experience.

 

Categories: daily life, family, gratitude | Tags: , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Friday 5 (7/13)

  1. Just read this and added energy to the Brighid candle I already have going for my friend. Glad she is doing so well. I will definitely be thing of you and your family. In Brighid’s healing flame.

    • Thank you 🙂 we are having a party to celebrate on Sunday. I was reading your posts about your friend and your brother and thinking about this and all I can come up with is life is a funny thing, you do never know what tomorrow will hold. I think I will read the Brighid Candle to mom or maybe the whole family at dinner on Sunday. I know mom will be touched. I am also glad to her your friend is doing well and I wish her a speedy recovery, or at least a happy one.

  2. Damn autocorrect: thinking

  3. Pingback: Mom’s party | bookofshadowsandblessings

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Throwback at Trapper Creek

An ongoing chronicle of meeting the expectations of the land...

Pocket Glass

An online mirror book.

Br0ken Girl Diaries

“Once, I can’t remember, I was long ago, someone strange. I was innocent and wise, and full of pain. Now that I’m a woman, everything has changed. Once, when I was searching, somewhere out of reach, far away, in a place I could not find, or heart obey. Now that I’m a woman, everything is strange.” – Amalthea from The Last Unicorn.

Sang Rouge Terre Blanc

A Mystery School For The 21st Century

Green Plate Rule

Making healthy meals simple and fun for the whole family.

hecatedemeter

Undermining the Patriarchy Every Chance I Get. And I Get a Lot of Chances (Copyright Preserved)

History Witch

Illustrations & Odd Facts

a willful termination of belief

THE WEIRD FICTION OF MIK DIETLIN

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Old World Garden Farms

Gardening, Cooking & DIY Living

thistledewmercantileblog.wordpress.com/

The Blessing of the Home is Contentment

The Grumpy Druid

Selected entries from the diary of a 21st Century druid.

Love is my Spirit

An exploration of the Infinite Forms of Love...

Northern Rivers Grove, ADF

Bringing the Ár nDraíocht Féin tradition to Northern NY

Fox and Broom

A mom's adventures in keeping healthy, keeping her sanity, and making stuff.

Urban Meliad

Feminist Witch talks Magic, Animism, Local Food, Goddesses, Urban Agriculture, Fibre Arts, and Preserves

While Chasing Kids

Russian mom posts about things that happen in and around her kitchen

theINFP

I aim to bring delight to others by sharing my creative endeavours

Poison Magnolia

When You Have Eliminated The Impossible, Whatever Remains, However Improbable, Must Be The Truth.

petit4chocolatier

food, writing, life, and other things in-between

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

A Green(ish) Life

Combining permaculture, serious crafty skills and a deeply instilled sense of wonder to lead as green(ish) a life as possible!

Romancing the Bee

Beautiful Beekeeping, English Cottage Gardening, and Cooking with Honey

Lazy Hippie Mama

One woman's attempt to save the earth, promote world peace and raise productive citizens without expending too much effort

Pixiecraft: Adventures of Magick and Devotion

The Life of a Practicing Pagan and Traditional Witch

This Pagan House

Autumn 2013

Lucky Pastels

Lifestyle Beauty Fashion DIY

Serenity Spell

WILD IN FLORIDA: Exploring and Photographing Florida's Threatened Ecosystems, Wildlife, and More

fall in love. take photos. repeat.

the chronicles of a girl with a camera

Witch Reads

magical book reviews

Small Potatoes

Because in MY life, these things are no small potatoes

jerry-mahoney.com

Author, ranter, dad

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

Eat, Play, Love

making memories through food, wine and travel

The Parenting Passageway

Peaceful Parenting for a Hectic World

Wonder in the Woods

Living and Learning in the Pacific Northwest

The Oracle

The Blog

The Witch of Forest Grove

Animism, Folk Magic, and Spirit Work in the Pacific Northwest

Journey with Julia

Living each day with kindness, compassion, inspiration, and humor.

